Children over 4

The National Governing Body for swimming, Swim England has developed a comprehensive National Plan for Teaching Swimming (NPTS).

All our swimming instructors follow this plan and as such we offer the very best in swim tuition from encouraging non-swimmers to take their first splash to developing an advanced water competence.

For full details of the Swim England swim stages please see here

For a brief summary, please see below:

Stage 1:

Developing basic safety awareness, the ‘class’ scenario, basic movement skills and water confidence skills.

Stage 2:

Developing safe entries to the water, including jumping in, basic floating, travel and rotation unaided to regain upright positions. Swimmers may use aids, e.g. arm bands, floats etc.

Stage 3:

Developing safe entries including submersion, travel up to 10 metres on the front and back, progress rotation skills and water safety knowledge.

Stage 4:

Developing the understanding of buoyancy through a range of skills, refining kicking technique for all strokes, and swimming 10 metres to a given standard as directed by Swim England.

Stage 5:

Developing ‘watermanship’ through sculling and treading water skills, and complete rotation, also performing all strokes to the given standard as directed by Swim England.

Stage 6:

Developing effective swimming skills including coordinated breathing; developing the water safety aspects and understanding of preparation for exercise.

Stage 7:

Developing quality stroke technique up to 100 metres, incorporating skills learnt and combining them to develop a linked routine and complete successfully an obstacle course that combines a variety of skills accomplished throughout stages 1 – 7.

Achieved Stage 7- Once swimmers have developed the core range of skills required to be confident, competent and safe in water through stages 1 – 7, there is a choice to then take part in a variety of different aquatic disciplines.